• Thu. Jun 20th, 2024


The News blog of the onionfarms community

Algeria Participates in the African Union C-10 Meeting

The Algerian Minister of Foreign Affairs Ramtane Lamamra participated in a ministerial meeting of the African Union Committee of Ten on reforming the UN Security Council. The participating countries included Libya, Senegal, Algeria, Congo-Brazzaville, Zambia, Equatorial Guinea, Namibia, Kenya, Sierra Leone, Uganda.

Algeria and the other African countries represented at this meeting are seeking for Africa to be granted two permanent seats in the UN Security Council. The meeting was hosted by Denis Sassou Nguesso (President of Congo – Brazzaville) and attended by high-ranking officials from the participating countries as well as representatives from the African Union and the United Nations. The long-term goal is to obtain two permanent seats in the UN body and raise its representation  in the category of non-permanent seats from 3 seats to 5 seats.

Algeria is seeking leverage within the C-10 hoping to ascend to a non-permanent member of the United Nations Security Council. Morocco is also seeking a non-permanent position on the Security Council for 2028 and 2029.

The United Nations Security Council is made up of 5 permanent members: China, France, Russia, United Kingdom, and the United States. The non-permanent members elected for a two-year term (the end of the term year shown in parenthesis) are Albania (2023), Brazil (2023), Ecuador (2024), Gabon (2023), Ghana (2023), Japan (2024), Malta (2024), Mozambique (2024), Switzerland (2024), and the United Arab Emirates (2023).